Blog

Chevy Colorado Payload by Trim: Why the ZR2 Carries 400 Pounds Less Than a Work Truck

Chevy Colorado Payload by Trim: Why the ZR2 Carries 400 Pounds Less Than a Work Truck

Chevy Colorado payload by trim runs from 1,710 pounds on a 2026 Work Truck 2WD down to 1,310 pounds on the ZR2 (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). Every trim shares one 310-horsepower 2.7L TurboMax engine, so that 400-pound spread comes from off-road hardware weight, not from any engine choice.

Payload is easier to judge with the trucks in front of you, so browse new Chevy trucks and compare Colorado trims in person.

Key Takeaways

  • A 2026 Colorado WT 2WD is rated for 1,710 pounds of payload and a ZR2 for 1,310 pounds (GM Authority, February 27, 2026).
  • Payload runs opposite to price, since the least expensive trim carries the most.
  • Max towing is 7,700 pounds across every 2026 Colorado trim when properly equipped (Chevrolet, 2026 model year).
  • Payload includes passengers, cargo, accessories and trailer tongue weight.

You pick the trim you like, sign for it, then load four people, a toolbox and 500 pounds of feed into it. That is usually the moment a midsize truck buyer meets payload. On the Colorado, payload is the one spec that swings hard between trims, and it swings in the direction most shoppers do not expect.

The midsize class earns its keep here. A full-size crew cab does not fit the older driveways and single-car garages off Front Street, and it is a chore to park in the Co-Op District. Fifteen minutes east, caliche ranch entrances and unlit county roads are exactly what the off-road trims were built for.

Why Does Payload Change So Much Across Colorado Trims?

Start with what does not change. Every 2026 Colorado, from the Work Truck to the ZR2, uses the same 2.7L TurboMax four-cylinder rated at 310 horsepower and 430 lb-ft of torque (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Max towing is 7,700 pounds across the lineup when properly equipped. There is no engine upgrade to buy and no tow rating hiding in a higher trim, so compare the Colorado trim details instead.

What changes is weight. Skid plates, a wider track, heavier wheels and tires, added suspension travel and the ZR2's Multimatic dampers all add mass to the truck itself. Gross vehicle weight rating does not rise to match, so every pound of off-road hardware comes out of what the truck can carry.

What Actually Counts Against Your Payload?

Payload is not bed capacity. Payload is everything the truck carries that did not come from the factory: driver, passengers, tools, a bed rack, a steel bumper, a toolbox, and the tongue weight of whatever you tow. A crew of four adults plus their gear eats a real share of 1,310 pounds before a single bag of feed goes in the bed.

Tongue weight is the part people miss. Tongue weight presses down on the hitch, so it lands on the truck's payload rather than on the tow rating. Accessories work the same way, and anything you bolt on stays bolted on, so subtract a rack or bumper before you load. The number that governs your specific truck sits on the door-jamb sticker, not in a brochure.

Which Colorado Trim Carries the Most?

A Silverado 1500 is the honest answer if your load math keeps landing north of 1,700 pounds. Within the Colorado lineup, the Work Truck and the LT sit at the top of the payload chart and the ZR2 sits at the bottom, the reverse of the price order. Here is how the 2026 trims sort out.

Trim 2026 MSRP Max payload What it trades payload for
WT $32,400 1,710 lbs 2WD / 1,700 lbs 4WD Nothing. Lightest, plainest, carries most.
LT $36,000 1,710 lbs 2WD / 1,700 lbs 4WD Comfort and tech, no payload penalty.
Trail Boss $40,500 1,570 lbs Lift and off-road tires, 140 lbs given up.
Z71 $44,600 1,590 lbs Trail gear with more on-road manners.
ZR2 $50,700 1,310 lbs Serious off-road hardware, 400 lbs given up.

Know what your current truck is worth before you settle on a Colorado trim, because that number decides how much truck you can justify. It takes about two minutes to value your trade.

What Changes for the 2027 Colorado?

Order books are open for the 2027 Colorado, and the lineup is five crew cab short-box trims: WT, LT, Trail Boss, Z71 and ZR2 (GM-Trucks order guide, August 3, 2026). Payload, GVWR, fuel capacity and dimensions carry over identical to 2026, so the table above applies to a 2027 order just as it does to a 2026 truck.

The 2.7L TurboMax RPO code changes from L3B to L4B for 2027, and Chevrolet has not disclosed whether that changes output or towing, so no figure here claims it does. Three colors arrive, Serpent Metallic, Storm Gray Metallic and Nitron Blue, while Snowdrift, Reef Blue and Sunrise Orange are dropped. The hotspot moves from 4G LTE to 5G, and Chevy Safety Assist stays standard on Colorado. The ZR2 Bison is confirmed as an AEV collaboration, though Chevrolet has not published its pricing. Compare specs in our model research hub.

What This Means for Hutto Drivers

US 79 runs right past the store, and it carries a steady stream of contractor pickups and crew trucks, heavier since construction started on the Samsung plant about ten minutes east in Taylor. A midsize truck is a genuine work vehicle for many of the trades that have grown up around that project. It parks at a tight job site, fits a residential street, and still hauls a load.

The real tension shows up in Old Town Hutto. The buyer who wants a ZR2 for the caliche ranch entrances out toward Coupland is often the same person hauling feed, tools or a small trailer on Monday morning. At 1,310 pounds, the ZR2 gives up 400 pounds against a Work Truck (GM Authority, February 27, 2026), and that gap is where the decision gets real. Williamson County keeps growing, and some families settle that split with a second truck from our used truck inventory.

Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers

How much payload does a 2026 Chevy Colorado ZR2 have?

The 2026 Colorado ZR2 is rated for 1,310 pounds of payload (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). That figure is the lowest in the lineup, and it reflects the off-road hardware the ZR2 adds. Check the door-jamb sticker on the specific truck you buy, because equipment choices move the number.

Which Colorado trim has the highest payload?

The Work Truck 2WD and the LT 2WD tie for the highest 2026 Colorado payload at 1,710 pounds each, and their 4WD versions are rated at 1,700 pounds (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). The Work Truck also carries the lowest MSRP in the lineup at $32,400 (Chevrolet, 2026 model year).

Does a higher Colorado trim tow more?

No. Max towing is 7,700 pounds across the entire 2026 Colorado lineup when properly equipped (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Every trim uses the same 2.7L TurboMax rated at 310 horsepower and 430 lb-ft of torque. Trim level changes payload, ground clearance and equipment, not the tow rating.

Does trailer tongue weight count against payload?

Yes. Tongue weight presses down on the hitch, so it counts against the truck's payload instead of its towing capacity. A trailer that puts 600 pounds on the ball leaves a 1,310-pound ZR2 with about 700 pounds for people, gear and accessories. Weigh your loaded setup before you assume it fits.

Where do I find my truck's exact payload?

Look at the yellow sticker inside the driver's door jamb. It states the combined weight of occupants and cargo that should never be exceeded for that specific vehicle. A brochure figure describes a configuration, not your truck, and every accessory added after delivery lowers what the sticker allows.

Is the 2027 Colorado payload different from 2026?

No. Payload, GVWR, fuel capacity and dimensions carry over identical to 2026 on the 2027 Colorado (GM-Trucks order guide, August 3, 2026). Order books for the 2027 Colorado are already open. The 2.7L TurboMax RPO code changes from L3B to L4B, and Chevrolet has not disclosed whether that affects output or towing.

Start With the Load, Not the Trim Badge

Start by adding up what you carry on your heaviest week: people, tools, feed, tongue weight and accessories. Bring that number to 1200B Hwy 79 E in Hutto and we will match it to a trim. Sales is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM and Sunday from 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Call Covert Chevrolet Hutto at 512-253-4911 to set up a test drive, or run the numbers with our payment calculator.

Last updated: October 19, 2026

New Chevrolet Inventory  |  Pre-Owned Inventory  |  Chevrolet Service

Recommended Posts

Before Deer Season: The Towing Setup Check Every Central Texas Truck Owner Should Run

Before Deer Season: The Towing Setup Check Every Central Texas Truck Owner Should Run A fall towing checkup covers six things: trailer tire age and load range, wheel bearings, brake controller calibration, hitch and ball ratings, the seven-pin connector, and the truck's own brakes, battery and cooling system. Start with the four-digit DOT date code stamped on every trailer tire, because rubber ages out long before tread does. If any of that is more than you want to chase yourself, book a service visit online. Key Takeaways Trailer tires fail from age and heat far more often than from worn tread. A brake controller calibrated on an empty trailer is wrong once the trailer is loaded. The lower of the two stamped ratings, ball or receiver, governs what you can legally pull. Corrosion at the seven-pin connector is the most common cause of dead trailer lights. A Texas summer damages batteries and trailer tires in ways that never show on the surface. The trailer has been parked behind the shop since June. It looks fine. The tires hold air, the lights worked last season, and the lease opens in a couple of weeks. That is exactly the setup that leaves people sitting on an unlit two-lane FM road after dark in October. Central Texas is hard on equipment that sits. Two months of triple-digit heat bakes sidewalls, dries out bearing grease, and cooks a battery that quits on the first cool morning of the season. None of that shows up in the tread depth. Why Do Trailer Tires Fail Before the Tread Wears Out? Trailer tires rarely wear out. They age out. Heat, sunlight and time break rubber down from the inside, and a tire that baked in full sun all summer is not the same tire it was in spring. Every tire carries a four-digit DOT date code molded into the sidewall showing the week and year it was built. Read it on all four tires plus the spare. Then check the load range letter against what the trailer weighs loaded, not empty. Your trailer manufacturer's tire and loading placard lists the rating you need, and the vehicle owner's manual covers the truck side. If the truck's tires are also aging, compare tire sizes online. What Belongs on This Weekend's Checklist? Wheel bearings come first. Jack one wheel at a time, grab the tire top and bottom, and feel for play. Spin it and listen for a growl. Repacking bearings is routine maintenance. A bearing that lets go at dusk on a shoulderless county road is not. Then read the ratings. The ball has one stamped on it, the receiver another, and the lower of the two governs. A coupler sized wrong for the ball is a common, quiet mistake. Cross the safety chains under the tongue so a dropped coupler lands in the X instead of the pavement. Finish with lights. Walk each function with a helper, then pull the seven-pin apart and look for green corrosion. Is Your Brake Controller Set for a Loaded Trailer? Most controllers get set once, on an empty trailer, in a parking lot. Then it gets loaded with a side-by-side, feed and three coolers, and the gain that felt right empty does almost nothing at real weight. Set it the way the vehicle owner's manual describes, with the trailer loaded the way you'll actually pull it. Roll slowly on a quiet stretch, squeeze the manual override, and confirm the trailer brakes drag the rig down on their own. If the trailer doesn't tug back, the brakes aren't working and the gain number means nothing. Truck brakes that felt fine unloaded get a real test loaded, so a certified brake inspection is worth scheduling. Does the Truck Itself Need Attention? Towing changes what the truck is asked to do. Brakes, tires, cooling and charging all carry more, and a summer of triple-digit afternoons took something out of each. Batteries are the usual first casualty. Heat kills them in August and the failure shows up in October, so a load test before the first trip is cheap insurance. Check coolant level on a cold engine and look at the hoses. Here's the split between what you can handle in the driveway and what needs a lift. Item Do it yourself Bring it in Trailer tire age and load range Read the DOT code and placard Mounting, balancing, replacement Wheel bearings Feel each wheel for play and noise Repacking, seals, hub inspection Brake controller calibration Set gain on a loaded trailer Wiring faults and dead controllers Hitch, ball and coupler ratings Compare the stamped ratings Receiver damage, hitch installation Seven-pin wiring and lights Walk the lights, clean the pins Corroded harnesses, ground faults Truck brakes Note noise or longer stops Pad, rotor and fluid inspection Battery and cooling system Check corrosion and coolant level Load testing and pressure testing Our Hwy 79 service drive can look at the truck and the trailer together, so bring the rig instead of guessing at half the system. What This Means for Hutto Drivers Most hunting traffic out of Hutto runs east and north, toward Coupland, Thrall and Granger, on two-lane FM roads with no shoulder and no lights. Deer move at dusk on those roads from October through December. A trailer that pushes your truck past the point you meant to stop has nowhere good to go. Ranch entrances add the second problem. Caliche and gravel over Blackland Prairie clay turns to grease after a rain, and that's where marginal trailer brakes become a real event. US 79 carries the rest of it, now heavier with contractor and equipment trailers running to the Samsung site in Taylor, about ten minutes east. If your rig has outgrown the truck, a Silverado 2500HD is rated at 20,000 pounds conventional towing with the Duramax and Max Trailering Package on a Crew Cab (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers How old is too old for a trailer tire? Trailer tire replacement is driven by the manufacturer's stated service life, not by tread. Check your trailer manufacturer's guidance and the tire maker's recommendation, then read the four-digit DOT date code on each sidewall. Chevrolet does not publish a service life for trailer tires, so use those two sources rather than a rule of thumb. How do I know my trailer brakes actually work? Load the trailer, roll at low speed on a quiet road, and squeeze the manual override by itself. You should feel the trailer pull the rig down without the truck's brakes. If nothing happens, the trailer brakes, magnets or wiring need attention before you tow. Do wheel bearings really need repacking every season? Follow the interval in your trailer manufacturer's manual rather than a seasonal habit. Condition matters more: play, growling, a hub that runs hot, or grease that comes out gritty. Any of those means service now. Repacking is inexpensive compared to losing a hub on an FM road, and current service and parts offers help. Why do my trailer lights work at home but not on the road? Corrosion at the seven-pin connector is the usual answer. Pins oxidize, the connection works while parked, then vibration and moisture break it once you're moving. Pull the plug apart, clean both halves, apply dielectric grease, and inspect the harness for chafing where it crosses the tongue and frame rail. Which rating matters, the ball or the receiver? The lower of the two always governs. A ball stamped for 10,000 pounds on a receiver rated for less gives you the receiver's number, and the trailer's coupler carries a rating too. Check all three, use the smallest, and confirm your truck's figures in the vehicle owner's manual and on the door-jamb label. Where can I get all of this checked in one stop? Bring the truck and trailer to our shop at 1200B Hwy 79 E in Hutto, central to most of Williamson County. Techs can load test the battery, inspect brakes, pressure test the cooling system and check wiring in one visit. Call ahead so the right bay is open. Start Your Fall Towing Checkup This Week Run the driveway items this weekend: date codes, bearing play, ratings, chains and lights. Book the rest before the first cool front brings everyone in at once. Call the service department at 877-841-2163 and ask about a battery load test while you are there. Service hours are Monday through Friday 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM and Saturday 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM, closed Sunday. Covert Chevrolet Hutto is at 1200B Hwy 79 E, Hutto, TX 78634. Last updated: October 12, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service

Super Cruise on I-35 and SH 130: Which Chevys Have It and What It Actually Does

Super Cruise on I-35 and SH 130: Which Chevys Have It and What It Actually Does Chevy Super Cruise is hands-free driving on more than 600,000 miles of compatible mapped roads across the United States and Canada (Chevrolet, August 2026). The system runs on divided highways such as I-35 and SH 130, watches your eyes with a driver attention camera, and does not operate on two-lane FM roads. If a long highway commute is most of your week, start by seeing which new Chevrolet SUVs in Hutto are built for it. Key Takeaways Super Cruise is hands-free driving on compatible mapped divided highways, not autonomous driving. A camera watches your eyes, and looking away long enough shuts the system down. Chevrolet offers it on the Traverse, Tahoe, Suburban, Silverado, Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Bolt and Silverado EV. Three years of OnStar One come with a new Super Cruise-equipped vehicle (Chevrolet, August 2026). I-35 and SH 130 suit the system; US 79 and the county roads do not. You leave Hutto a little before seven, and by the time you merge onto I-35 you are already on the brake. Forty minutes later your right leg is tired and your exit is still ahead. That specific misery is what Chevrolet built Super Cruise to take off your hands. Super Cruise is also the feature most often oversold. A hands-free system is not a self-driving system, and the gap between those two ideas is where drivers get themselves in trouble. Knowing exactly where the feature starts working and where it quits is worth more than any brochure line about the future of driving. What Does Super Cruise Actually Do on a Highway? Super Cruise steers, brakes and holds speed on highways Chevrolet has already mapped, with your hands off the wheel. Chevrolet puts that network at more than 600,000 miles of compatible roads in the United States and Canada (chevrolet.com, August 2026). That total sounds enormous, and it is still specific: divided highways with clear markings, not every road you drive. You can compare equipment across the lineup on the Chevrolet model research pages. A camera on the steering column watches your eyes the whole time. Glance down at a text and the system warns you. Keep looking away and the system hands control back, then escalates. That attention requirement is not a setting you switch off, and any honest description of Super Cruise has to lead with it rather than bury it. Which Chevrolet Models Offer Super Cruise? Chevrolet offers Super Cruise on the Traverse, Tahoe, Suburban, Silverado, Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Bolt and Silverado EV (Chevrolet, August 2026). Nothing else in the lineup is on that list, so a Trax or a Trailblazer shopper can skip this conversation entirely. Those eight span gas SUVs, full-size trucks and electric models, so Super Cruise is not tied to one powertrain. Availability then depends on how one particular vehicle was built, and not every example of those models leaves the factory with the hardware. Read the window sticker on the actual VIN, or ask a salesperson to pull the build sheet, before you count on the feature being there. The Traverse specs and features page is a sensible starting point for a three-row highway commuter. What Does Super Cruise Cost After the First Three Years? Three years of OnStar One come included with a new Super Cruise-equipped vehicle, so the hands-free capability is live from day one at no separate charge (Chevrolet, August 2026). Once those three years end, Super Cruise continues as a paid subscription. The published rate is $39.99 per month or $399.00 per year for the Super Cruise plan, and OnStar One starts at $34.99 per month (OnStar, August 2026). Those are subscription prices, not a vehicle price and not a monthly payment. Budget for them like a phone plan, then ask whether you drive enough divided-highway miles in a year to earn back the annual figure. A driver running the toll bypass to the airport twice a month probably does. Where Does Super Cruise Fit a Central Texas Drive? Judge Super Cruise route by route. Here is how Super Cruise lines up against the drives people here actually make, including the two rows where the answer is a flat no. Route Road type Super Cruise fit I-35 through Round Rock and Georgetown Divided interstate, heavy congestion Strong. The mapped highway type the system was designed around. SH 130 toll bypass Divided toll highway, long and open Strong. Few interruptions and light traffic. US 79 east toward Taylor Undivided highway, signals and turn-ins No. Not a hands-free road. FM and county roads north and east of town Two-lane, unlit, no median No. You drive every mile yourself. Long haul pulling a trailer Divided highway with a trailer attached Yes on the 2027 Silverado 1500, which adds trailering capability. The two highway rows cover most of your weekly miles. Look through the current new-vehicle specials and check the equipment line on each window sticker. What This Means for Hutto Drivers People in this corner of Williamson County drive a lot, and a large share of those miles are highway miles. The SH 130 toll bypass crosses US 79 just west of town, and that is how plenty of drivers here reach the airport or San Antonio without ever touching I-35. Long, straight and lightly used describes close to an ideal Super Cruise route. The rest of the picture starts in your own driveway. October brings the first cool fronts and noticeably shorter daylight, so the drive home from the Samsung construction traffic on US 79 now finishes in the dark. Deer move on the FM roads from October into December, and no driver assistance feature is going to save you out there. Super Cruise is a highway tool. The last few miles on a two-lane, unlit county road belong entirely to you, which makes this a sensible month to book a service visit and get headlights, wipers and tires looked at. Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers Does Super Cruise work on I-35 and SH 130? Yes, both are the divided-highway type Super Cruise was built for, provided the specific stretch is part of Chevrolet's mapped network of more than 600,000 miles (Chevrolet, August 2026). The vehicle tells you when hands-free driving is available on the stretch you are on, and you steer any time it does not. How much does Super Cruise cost after the included period? Three years of OnStar One come with a new Super Cruise-equipped vehicle. After that, the published Super Cruise plan runs $39.99 per month or $399.00 per year, and OnStar One starts at $34.99 per month (Chevrolet and OnStar, August 2026). Those figures are subscription prices only, separate from the price of the vehicle. Which Chevrolet models offer Super Cruise? Chevrolet lists the Traverse, Tahoe, Suburban, Silverado, Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Bolt and Silverado EV (Chevrolet, August 2026). Availability still varies by how an individual vehicle was equipped at the factory, so confirm the feature on the window sticker of the exact unit you are considering rather than assuming the model covers it. Can Super Cruise be used while towing? The 2027 Silverado 1500 adds trailering capability to Super Cruise, which matters on a long haul (Chevrolet, June 2026). Chevrolet has not published that capability for the other Super Cruise vehicles, so confirm it rather than assume it. Compare a Silverado 1500 near Round Rock before you order a truck for towing. Will Super Cruise work on FM 1660 or a county road? No. FM roads and county roads are two-lane and undivided, which puts them outside the compatible road network entirely. The system will not engage there, and treating a lane-centering feature as a substitute for attention on an unlit two-lane road at dusk is how people hit deer in October. Is Super Cruise the same as self-driving? No. Super Cruise is a hands-free driver assistance feature, and you remain the driver at all times. A camera confirms your eyes are on the road, and the system disengages if they are not. Nothing about it lets you read, nap or take your attention off traffic on any road. Start With a Test Drive on the Road You Actually Commute Drive a Super Cruise vehicle up I-35 during a real weekday backup, not around a quiet block, and you will know quickly whether the subscription is worth it to you. Covert Chevrolet Hutto can pull the build sheet on a unit so you know before the drive whether the hardware is on that VIN. Call sales at 512-253-4911, Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM or Sunday 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Find out what your trade is worth first so the whole conversation happens in one visit. Last updated: October 5, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service

CarBravo Replaced Chevy's Certified Pre-Owned Program: What Changed for Used Buyers

CarBravo Replaced Chevy's Certified Pre-Owned Program: What Changed for Used Buyers CarBravo certified pre-owned replaced Chevrolet's old CPO program on June 2, 2026, when GM folded Chevrolet, Buick and GMC certification into one brand. The Bravo tier adds a 12-month, 12,000-mile bumper-to-bumper limited warranty that starts when the factory warranty expires. The Budget tier covers older vehicles with 30-day, 1,000-mile powertrain protection. If you're already shopping, it helps to browse the used lineup with the new program in mind. Key Takeaways GM merged the Chevrolet, Buick and GMC certified pre-owned programs into CarBravo on June 2, 2026. The Bravo tier adds a 12-month, 12,000-mile bumper-to-bumper limited warranty once factory coverage runs out. The Budget tier covers vehicles 10 to 15 years old with a 30-day, 1,000-mile powertrain warranty. GM does not publish an inspection point count or a number of included maintenance visits. Ask for the coverage documents in writing on the exact vehicle you are considering. You found a used truck you like, the listing calls it certified, and you want to know what that word actually buys you. The honest answer changed this summer, and a lot of dealer websites have not caught up. Used vehicles move quickly along the US 79 corridor. New arrivals keep landing here needing a second vehicle within a week of unpacking, and drivers on this stretch stack highway miles fast. Certification is supposed to be the shortcut that tells you a stranger's vehicle was genuinely inspected. If you read about certified pre-owned cars in Hutto a year ago, the program described there no longer exists. What Exactly Changed on June 2, 2026? GM folded the separate Chevrolet, Buick and GMC certified pre-owned programs into a single program called CarBravo, effective June 2, 2026 (GM, announced March 3, 2026). The chevrolet.com certified pre-owned page now returns a 404. That is the signature of a program retired, not a program renamed. Two changes are genuinely new. CarBravo now certifies non-GM makes, so a certified vehicle on a Chevrolet lot no longer has to wear a bowtie. Bumper-to-bumper coverage also doubled, moving from CarBravo's earlier 6-month, 6,000-mile term up to 12 months and 12,000 miles. Cadillac is the exception and still runs its own separate certified program. How Do the Bravo and Budget Tiers Compare? CarBravo splits into two tiers, and they are nowhere near the same product. The Bravo tier covers vehicles up to 10 years old with under 100,000 miles, and it carries a 12-month, 12,000-mile bumper-to-bumper limited warranty that begins when the original factory warranty expires. The Budget tier covers vehicles 10 to 15 years old with up to 150,000 miles, and it carries a 30-day, 1,000-mile powertrain limited warranty. Roadside assistance is included, though GM does not publish the term. Read the two tiers side by side before you sort listings by price and model year. Coverage detail Bravo tier Budget tier Warranty type and term 12-month / 12,000-mile bumper-to-bumper limited 30-day / 1,000-mile powertrain limited When coverage starts When the original factory warranty expires Not published separately Vehicle age eligibility Up to 10 years old 10 to 15 years old Mileage eligibility Under 100,000 miles Up to 150,000 miles Exchange policy 10 days or 500 miles 10 days or 500 miles Inspection point count Not published Not published If your current vehicle is part of the plan, get a number on it first. You can value your trade online in a few minutes and shop against a real figure instead of a guess. What Has GM Not Published About CarBravo? Two numbers buyers expect are simply missing, and no dealer should invent them. CarBravo.com describes only a Multi-Point Inspection. It publishes no point count, and the old 172-point figure from Chevrolet's retired program is not carried forward. GM also does not publish how many included maintenance visits come with a certified vehicle. So do this instead. Ask the store for the actual coverage documents in writing, on the specific VIN you're considering, before any money changes hands. A printed warranty summary tied to that vehicle beats any blog post, including this one. That single request is the most useful thing on this page. Is the Bravo Tier Worth the Same on Every Vehicle? Bumper-to-bumper coverage that begins when the factory warranty expires is worth much more on a low-mileage three-year-old vehicle than on a nine-year-old one. Both can qualify inside the Bravo tier's 10-year, 100,000-mile window. The newer vehicle gets a fresh year of broad coverage layered onto parts that are still young, while the older one gets those same 12 months after most of the easy life is gone. That spread is easy to see when you scan used trucks near Round Rock by model year. The Budget tier deserves the same clear eyes. A 30-day, 1,000-mile powertrain warranty on a 12-year-old truck is real coverage, and it is also a very different product from what most people picture at the word certified. Compare it against the uncertified listing parked next to it before you decide. What This Means for Hutto Drivers Williamson County is one of the fastest-growing counties in Texas, and that shows up on used lots in a specific way. People land here, start a job, and need a second vehicle inside a week. There is rarely time to research a vehicle's past the slow way, so a written warranty tier and an inspection record carry real weight. Mileage is the other local factor. Commuters running US 79 and I-35 daily pile on highway miles quickly, and construction traffic tied to the Samsung plant in Taylor has made 79 noticeably busier. Plenty of used trucks around here have spent real hours on caliche and gravel county roads east of Hutto toward Coupland and Thrall, and that kind of wear never shows up in listing photos. Whatever you buy here, book a first service visit early and get a technician's eyes on it. Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers Is Chevrolet's certified pre-owned program gone? Yes. GM retired the standalone Chevrolet certified pre-owned program on June 2, 2026 and moved Chevrolet, Buick and GMC certification under CarBravo. The old chevrolet.com certified pre-owned page returns a 404 today. Any site still quoting a 172-point inspection is running copy that is well out of date. What does the CarBravo Bravo tier warranty cover? The Bravo tier carries a 12-month, 12,000-mile bumper-to-bumper limited warranty that starts when the original factory warranty expires. Eligible vehicles are up to 10 years old with under 100,000 miles. That term is double CarBravo's previous 6-month, 6,000-mile coverage. Ask for the written warranty document on the exact vehicle. Can CarBravo certify a Toyota or a Ford? Yes, and that part is new. CarBravo now certifies non-GM makes, so a certified listing no longer has to be a Chevrolet, Buick or GMC product. That widens the pool, including among used SUVs near Georgetown. Cadillac is the one carve-out and keeps its own separate certified program. How many inspection points does CarBravo require? GM does not publish a number. CarBravo.com says only that vehicles receive a Multi-Point Inspection, and the 172-point figure from the retired Chevrolet program is not carried over. Request the completed inspection sheet for the VIN you're considering, in writing, so you know exactly what a technician checked. How long do I have to exchange a CarBravo vehicle? Ten days or 500 miles, whichever comes first, and the exchange is for another CarBravo vehicle rather than a refund. That window is short, so drive the vehicle the way you normally drive during those first days. Report anything that feels wrong to the store immediately, in writing. Does the Budget tier make sense on a 12-year-old truck? It can, as long as you price it honestly. The Budget tier gives 30 days or 1,000 miles of powertrain coverage on vehicles 10 to 15 years old with up to 150,000 miles. Treat that as a short safety net rather than long-term protection, and budget for maintenance accordingly. Start With the Documents, Not the Badge Pick the vehicle first, then ask for two pieces of paper: the completed inspection sheet and the warranty document tied to that VIN. Read the tier, the term and the start date before anyone talks about money. Once the coverage makes sense, the Covert Chevrolet Hutto finance center can handle the rest. Call sales at 512-253-4911 and ask for both documents to be pulled before you drive out. Sales hours are Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM and Sunday 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM, at 1200B Hwy 79 E, Hutto, TX 78634. Last updated: September 28, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service