Blog

What Chevy Safety Assist Includes, and Which Chevys Get It Standard

What Chevy Safety Assist Includes, and Which Chevys Get It Standard

Chevy Safety Assist is Chevrolet's name for six standard driver aids: Forward Collision Alert, Automatic Emergency Braking, Front Pedestrian Braking, Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning, Following Distance Indicator, and IntelliBeam Auto High Beams. Chevrolet lists the bundle as standard on Trax and on Colorado. None of the six makes a vehicle self-driving.

Seeing these features work beats reading about them. Browse the new Chevy SUVs on the lot and sit in one after sundown.

Key Takeaways

  • Chevy Safety Assist bundles six features, and four of them only warn rather than act.
  • Automatic Emergency Braking and Lane Keep Assist are the only two that act on the vehicle, and neither makes a Chevy self-driving.
  • Front Pedestrian Braking watches for people, and Chevrolet does not market it as a deer detection system.
  • Chevrolet lists the bundle as standard on Trax and on Colorado, and publishes no page covering the rest of the lineup.

The clock falls back the first weekend of November, and the drive home goes dark before you finish loading the truck. That change lands harder along the US 79 corridor than in a city, because so many miles here run on unlit two-lane roads.

Deer start moving in October and keep at it through December, which turns a routine 5:30 commute into a different job than it was in September. The driver assistance list on the window sticker becomes equipment you use this week.

What Is Chevy Safety Assist, Exactly?

Chevy Safety Assist is a package of six driver assistance features that Chevrolet installs together as standard equipment on certain models (Chevrolet model pages, August 2026). Four of the six only warn you. Two intervene, one on the brakes and one on the steering.

Chevrolet publishes no consolidated Chevy Safety Assist page listing every vehicle that carries the bundle, so the individual vehicle's equipment list is the only reliable source. Start at the Chevy model research hub, then confirm against the window sticker.

What Do the Three Collision Features Do?

Forward Collision Alert watches the vehicle ahead and warns you with a flashing light and a tone when you close too fast. Forward Collision Alert does not slow the vehicle at all. Reacting to that warning is still entirely your job as the driver.

Automatic Emergency Braking is the one that brakes. When a front collision looks likely and the driver has not reacted, the system applies the brakes on its own. Chevrolet positions Automatic Emergency Braking as a way to reduce crash severity, not to guarantee you avoid the crash.

Front Pedestrian Braking looks for people in the road ahead at lower speeds and can warn, then brake. Front Pedestrian Braking is a pedestrian system, not a deer detection system, and no feature in this bundle is. Chevrolet makes all three standard on the Chevy Trax.

How Do the Other Three Features Work?

Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning alerts you when the vehicle drifts over a lane marking without a turn signal, then applies gentle steering back toward the lane. The system reads painted lines, so a faded stripe gives it nothing to read on a dark county road.

Following Distance Indicator shows your gap to the vehicle ahead in seconds on the driver display. Following Distance Indicator changes nothing about the vehicle. The number exists so you decide to back off.

IntelliBeam Auto High Beams turns your high beams on when the road ahead is dark and empty, then drops them to low for oncoming headlights or taillights. IntelliBeam does not steer the beam, and you can always switch beams by hand.

Which Chevys Get Chevy Safety Assist Standard?

Chevrolet lists Chevy Safety Assist as standard equipment on Trax, and standard on the Chevy Colorado (Chevrolet, August 2026). For two other nameplates Chevrolet makes a different claim: over 15 standard safety and driver assistance features on Equinox, and over 20 on Traverse. Those counts are not the same as naming the bundle, so verify on the vehicle itself.

The table pairs each feature with what it does and where it matters locally.

Feature What it actually does Where it earns its keep around Hutto
Forward Collision Alert Warns only. No braking. A contractor pickup braking hard in the US 79 school zone.
Automatic Emergency Braking Brakes for you if you don't react. Stop-and-go crawl on I-35 through Round Rock.
Front Pedestrian Braking Detects people ahead at low speed. Not deer. Front Street and the Co-Op District after dark.
Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning Warns, then nudges the wheel. FM 1660, where the lane paint is worn thin.
Following Distance Indicator Displays your gap in seconds. Commuter bunching on US 79 east of town.
IntelliBeam Auto High Beams Swaps high and low beams automatically. Unlit county roads toward Coupland and Thrall at dusk.

Pricing moves with the incentive calendar, so check this month's new-vehicle specials before you settle on a trim.

What This Means for Hutto Drivers

Williamson County keeps adding drivers, and the mix on US 79 now includes crew trucks running to the Samsung site in Taylor alongside school-zone traffic twice a day. Following Distance Indicator and Automatic Emergency Braking do their quiet work in exactly that kind of bunched, distracted commuting.

Get north or east of town and the picture changes completely. FM 1660 and CR 137 are two lanes, unlit, and edged with Blackland Prairie clay, which is where IntelliBeam and Forward Collision Alert matter most in late October. Deer at dusk are the real hazard on those roads, and no system on this list detects them, so slowing down is still the only tool that works. If those roads are part of your nightly drive, weigh the headlight and driver assistance content carefully on whatever you shop next, including the Equinox.

Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers

What is included in Chevy Safety Assist?

Chevy Safety Assist includes six features: Forward Collision Alert, Automatic Emergency Braking, Front Pedestrian Braking, Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning, Following Distance Indicator, and IntelliBeam Auto High Beams. Chevrolet uses those exact names on its model pages as of August 2026. Four of the six only warn, while two act on the vehicle.

Is Chevy Safety Assist standard on the Trax?

Yes. Chevrolet lists Chevy Safety Assist as standard equipment on Trax, and also as standard on Colorado, as of August 2026. Chevrolet does not publish one page confirming standard status across the full lineup, so check the driver assistance section of the window sticker on the specific vehicle before you sign.

Does Front Pedestrian Braking detect deer?

No. Front Pedestrian Braking is built to detect people in the road ahead at lower speeds, and Chevrolet does not market it as a deer detection system. That distinction matters between October and December, when deer move at dusk on the two-lane roads north and east of town. Slow down instead of trusting the sensor.

What does IntelliBeam actually do on an unlit road?

IntelliBeam Auto High Beams turns your high beams on automatically when the road ahead is dark and no other vehicles are detected, then drops back to low beams for oncoming headlights or taillights ahead. IntelliBeam does not aim the beam around curves and does not brighten the light itself. The benefit is that you stop forgetting to switch.

Do these features make a Chevy self-driving?

No. Not one of the six features in Chevy Safety Assist makes a vehicle self-driving, and Chevrolet does not describe the bundle that way. Lane Keep Assist applies brief steering corrections and Automatic Emergency Braking applies the brakes, but both assume a driver who is steering, watching the road and ready to react.

How do I confirm a vehicle has Chevy Safety Assist?

Read the window sticker on that exact vehicle and look at the standard equipment list under driver assistance. The six feature names appear individually. Trim level and build date both affect content, so a printout for a similar vehicle is not proof. Our sales team will pull the sticker for any unit on the lot.

Start With the Window Sticker, Then Drive It After Dark

Ask for the window sticker on the exact unit and read the driver assistance list yourself. Then take the test drive late in the day, so you can watch IntelliBeam swap beams and find the Following Distance Indicator. Covert Chevrolet Hutto is at 1200B Hwy 79 E, with sales open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM and Sunday from 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Call 512-253-4911 to book an evening drive, or get pre-approved online first.

Last updated: October 26, 2026

New Chevrolet Inventory  |  Pre-Owned Inventory  |  Chevrolet Service

Recommended Posts

Chevy Colorado Payload by Trim: Why the ZR2 Carries 400 Pounds Less Than a Work Truck

Chevy Colorado Payload by Trim: Why the ZR2 Carries 400 Pounds Less Than a Work Truck Chevy Colorado payload by trim runs from 1,710 pounds on a 2026 Work Truck 2WD down to 1,310 pounds on the ZR2 (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). Every trim shares one 310-horsepower 2.7L TurboMax engine, so that 400-pound spread comes from off-road hardware weight, not from any engine choice. Payload is easier to judge with the trucks in front of you, so browse new Chevy trucks and compare Colorado trims in person. Key Takeaways A 2026 Colorado WT 2WD is rated for 1,710 pounds of payload and a ZR2 for 1,310 pounds (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). Payload runs opposite to price, since the least expensive trim carries the most. Max towing is 7,700 pounds across every 2026 Colorado trim when properly equipped (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Payload includes passengers, cargo, accessories and trailer tongue weight. You pick the trim you like, sign for it, then load four people, a toolbox and 500 pounds of feed into it. That is usually the moment a midsize truck buyer meets payload. On the Colorado, payload is the one spec that swings hard between trims, and it swings in the direction most shoppers do not expect. The midsize class earns its keep here. A full-size crew cab does not fit the older driveways and single-car garages off Front Street, and it is a chore to park in the Co-Op District. Fifteen minutes east, caliche ranch entrances and unlit county roads are exactly what the off-road trims were built for. Why Does Payload Change So Much Across Colorado Trims? Start with what does not change. Every 2026 Colorado, from the Work Truck to the ZR2, uses the same 2.7L TurboMax four-cylinder rated at 310 horsepower and 430 lb-ft of torque (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Max towing is 7,700 pounds across the lineup when properly equipped. There is no engine upgrade to buy and no tow rating hiding in a higher trim, so compare the Colorado trim details instead. What changes is weight. Skid plates, a wider track, heavier wheels and tires, added suspension travel and the ZR2's Multimatic dampers all add mass to the truck itself. Gross vehicle weight rating does not rise to match, so every pound of off-road hardware comes out of what the truck can carry. What Actually Counts Against Your Payload? Payload is not bed capacity. Payload is everything the truck carries that did not come from the factory: driver, passengers, tools, a bed rack, a steel bumper, a toolbox, and the tongue weight of whatever you tow. A crew of four adults plus their gear eats a real share of 1,310 pounds before a single bag of feed goes in the bed. Tongue weight is the part people miss. Tongue weight presses down on the hitch, so it lands on the truck's payload rather than on the tow rating. Accessories work the same way, and anything you bolt on stays bolted on, so subtract a rack or bumper before you load. The number that governs your specific truck sits on the door-jamb sticker, not in a brochure. Which Colorado Trim Carries the Most? A Silverado 1500 is the honest answer if your load math keeps landing north of 1,700 pounds. Within the Colorado lineup, the Work Truck and the LT sit at the top of the payload chart and the ZR2 sits at the bottom, the reverse of the price order. Here is how the 2026 trims sort out. Trim 2026 MSRP Max payload What it trades payload for WT $32,400 1,710 lbs 2WD / 1,700 lbs 4WD Nothing. Lightest, plainest, carries most. LT $36,000 1,710 lbs 2WD / 1,700 lbs 4WD Comfort and tech, no payload penalty. Trail Boss $40,500 1,570 lbs Lift and off-road tires, 140 lbs given up. Z71 $44,600 1,590 lbs Trail gear with more on-road manners. ZR2 $50,700 1,310 lbs Serious off-road hardware, 400 lbs given up. Know what your current truck is worth before you settle on a Colorado trim, because that number decides how much truck you can justify. It takes about two minutes to value your trade. What Changes for the 2027 Colorado? Order books are open for the 2027 Colorado, and the lineup is five crew cab short-box trims: WT, LT, Trail Boss, Z71 and ZR2 (GM-Trucks order guide, August 3, 2026). Payload, GVWR, fuel capacity and dimensions carry over identical to 2026, so the table above applies to a 2027 order just as it does to a 2026 truck. The 2.7L TurboMax RPO code changes from L3B to L4B for 2027, and Chevrolet has not disclosed whether that changes output or towing, so no figure here claims it does. Three colors arrive, Serpent Metallic, Storm Gray Metallic and Nitron Blue, while Snowdrift, Reef Blue and Sunrise Orange are dropped. The hotspot moves from 4G LTE to 5G, and Chevy Safety Assist stays standard on Colorado. The ZR2 Bison is confirmed as an AEV collaboration, though Chevrolet has not published its pricing. Compare specs in our model research hub. What This Means for Hutto Drivers US 79 runs right past the store, and it carries a steady stream of contractor pickups and crew trucks, heavier since construction started on the Samsung plant about ten minutes east in Taylor. A midsize truck is a genuine work vehicle for many of the trades that have grown up around that project. It parks at a tight job site, fits a residential street, and still hauls a load. The real tension shows up in Old Town Hutto. The buyer who wants a ZR2 for the caliche ranch entrances out toward Coupland is often the same person hauling feed, tools or a small trailer on Monday morning. At 1,310 pounds, the ZR2 gives up 400 pounds against a Work Truck (GM Authority, February 27, 2026), and that gap is where the decision gets real. Williamson County keeps growing, and some families settle that split with a second truck from our used truck inventory. Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers How much payload does a 2026 Chevy Colorado ZR2 have? The 2026 Colorado ZR2 is rated for 1,310 pounds of payload (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). That figure is the lowest in the lineup, and it reflects the off-road hardware the ZR2 adds. Check the door-jamb sticker on the specific truck you buy, because equipment choices move the number. Which Colorado trim has the highest payload? The Work Truck 2WD and the LT 2WD tie for the highest 2026 Colorado payload at 1,710 pounds each, and their 4WD versions are rated at 1,700 pounds (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). The Work Truck also carries the lowest MSRP in the lineup at $32,400 (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Does a higher Colorado trim tow more? No. Max towing is 7,700 pounds across the entire 2026 Colorado lineup when properly equipped (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Every trim uses the same 2.7L TurboMax rated at 310 horsepower and 430 lb-ft of torque. Trim level changes payload, ground clearance and equipment, not the tow rating. Does trailer tongue weight count against payload? Yes. Tongue weight presses down on the hitch, so it counts against the truck's payload instead of its towing capacity. A trailer that puts 600 pounds on the ball leaves a 1,310-pound ZR2 with about 700 pounds for people, gear and accessories. Weigh your loaded setup before you assume it fits. Where do I find my truck's exact payload? Look at the yellow sticker inside the driver's door jamb. It states the combined weight of occupants and cargo that should never be exceeded for that specific vehicle. A brochure figure describes a configuration, not your truck, and every accessory added after delivery lowers what the sticker allows. Is the 2027 Colorado payload different from 2026? No. Payload, GVWR, fuel capacity and dimensions carry over identical to 2026 on the 2027 Colorado (GM-Trucks order guide, August 3, 2026). Order books for the 2027 Colorado are already open. The 2.7L TurboMax RPO code changes from L3B to L4B, and Chevrolet has not disclosed whether that affects output or towing. Start With the Load, Not the Trim Badge Start by adding up what you carry on your heaviest week: people, tools, feed, tongue weight and accessories. Bring that number to 1200B Hwy 79 E in Hutto and we will match it to a trim. Sales is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM and Sunday from 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Call Covert Chevrolet Hutto at 512-253-4911 to set up a test drive, or run the numbers with our payment calculator. Last updated: October 19, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service

Before Deer Season: The Towing Setup Check Every Central Texas Truck Owner Should Run

Before Deer Season: The Towing Setup Check Every Central Texas Truck Owner Should Run A fall towing checkup covers six things: trailer tire age and load range, wheel bearings, brake controller calibration, hitch and ball ratings, the seven-pin connector, and the truck's own brakes, battery and cooling system. Start with the four-digit DOT date code stamped on every trailer tire, because rubber ages out long before tread does. If any of that is more than you want to chase yourself, book a service visit online. Key Takeaways Trailer tires fail from age and heat far more often than from worn tread. A brake controller calibrated on an empty trailer is wrong once the trailer is loaded. The lower of the two stamped ratings, ball or receiver, governs what you can legally pull. Corrosion at the seven-pin connector is the most common cause of dead trailer lights. A Texas summer damages batteries and trailer tires in ways that never show on the surface. The trailer has been parked behind the shop since June. It looks fine. The tires hold air, the lights worked last season, and the lease opens in a couple of weeks. That is exactly the setup that leaves people sitting on an unlit two-lane FM road after dark in October. Central Texas is hard on equipment that sits. Two months of triple-digit heat bakes sidewalls, dries out bearing grease, and cooks a battery that quits on the first cool morning of the season. None of that shows up in the tread depth. Why Do Trailer Tires Fail Before the Tread Wears Out? Trailer tires rarely wear out. They age out. Heat, sunlight and time break rubber down from the inside, and a tire that baked in full sun all summer is not the same tire it was in spring. Every tire carries a four-digit DOT date code molded into the sidewall showing the week and year it was built. Read it on all four tires plus the spare. Then check the load range letter against what the trailer weighs loaded, not empty. Your trailer manufacturer's tire and loading placard lists the rating you need, and the vehicle owner's manual covers the truck side. If the truck's tires are also aging, compare tire sizes online. What Belongs on This Weekend's Checklist? Wheel bearings come first. Jack one wheel at a time, grab the tire top and bottom, and feel for play. Spin it and listen for a growl. Repacking bearings is routine maintenance. A bearing that lets go at dusk on a shoulderless county road is not. Then read the ratings. The ball has one stamped on it, the receiver another, and the lower of the two governs. A coupler sized wrong for the ball is a common, quiet mistake. Cross the safety chains under the tongue so a dropped coupler lands in the X instead of the pavement. Finish with lights. Walk each function with a helper, then pull the seven-pin apart and look for green corrosion. Is Your Brake Controller Set for a Loaded Trailer? Most controllers get set once, on an empty trailer, in a parking lot. Then it gets loaded with a side-by-side, feed and three coolers, and the gain that felt right empty does almost nothing at real weight. Set it the way the vehicle owner's manual describes, with the trailer loaded the way you'll actually pull it. Roll slowly on a quiet stretch, squeeze the manual override, and confirm the trailer brakes drag the rig down on their own. If the trailer doesn't tug back, the brakes aren't working and the gain number means nothing. Truck brakes that felt fine unloaded get a real test loaded, so a certified brake inspection is worth scheduling. Does the Truck Itself Need Attention? Towing changes what the truck is asked to do. Brakes, tires, cooling and charging all carry more, and a summer of triple-digit afternoons took something out of each. Batteries are the usual first casualty. Heat kills them in August and the failure shows up in October, so a load test before the first trip is cheap insurance. Check coolant level on a cold engine and look at the hoses. Here's the split between what you can handle in the driveway and what needs a lift. Item Do it yourself Bring it in Trailer tire age and load range Read the DOT code and placard Mounting, balancing, replacement Wheel bearings Feel each wheel for play and noise Repacking, seals, hub inspection Brake controller calibration Set gain on a loaded trailer Wiring faults and dead controllers Hitch, ball and coupler ratings Compare the stamped ratings Receiver damage, hitch installation Seven-pin wiring and lights Walk the lights, clean the pins Corroded harnesses, ground faults Truck brakes Note noise or longer stops Pad, rotor and fluid inspection Battery and cooling system Check corrosion and coolant level Load testing and pressure testing Our Hwy 79 service drive can look at the truck and the trailer together, so bring the rig instead of guessing at half the system. What This Means for Hutto Drivers Most hunting traffic out of Hutto runs east and north, toward Coupland, Thrall and Granger, on two-lane FM roads with no shoulder and no lights. Deer move at dusk on those roads from October through December. A trailer that pushes your truck past the point you meant to stop has nowhere good to go. Ranch entrances add the second problem. Caliche and gravel over Blackland Prairie clay turns to grease after a rain, and that's where marginal trailer brakes become a real event. US 79 carries the rest of it, now heavier with contractor and equipment trailers running to the Samsung site in Taylor, about ten minutes east. If your rig has outgrown the truck, a Silverado 2500HD is rated at 20,000 pounds conventional towing with the Duramax and Max Trailering Package on a Crew Cab (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers How old is too old for a trailer tire? Trailer tire replacement is driven by the manufacturer's stated service life, not by tread. Check your trailer manufacturer's guidance and the tire maker's recommendation, then read the four-digit DOT date code on each sidewall. Chevrolet does not publish a service life for trailer tires, so use those two sources rather than a rule of thumb. How do I know my trailer brakes actually work? Load the trailer, roll at low speed on a quiet road, and squeeze the manual override by itself. You should feel the trailer pull the rig down without the truck's brakes. If nothing happens, the trailer brakes, magnets or wiring need attention before you tow. Do wheel bearings really need repacking every season? Follow the interval in your trailer manufacturer's manual rather than a seasonal habit. Condition matters more: play, growling, a hub that runs hot, or grease that comes out gritty. Any of those means service now. Repacking is inexpensive compared to losing a hub on an FM road, and current service and parts offers help. Why do my trailer lights work at home but not on the road? Corrosion at the seven-pin connector is the usual answer. Pins oxidize, the connection works while parked, then vibration and moisture break it once you're moving. Pull the plug apart, clean both halves, apply dielectric grease, and inspect the harness for chafing where it crosses the tongue and frame rail. Which rating matters, the ball or the receiver? The lower of the two always governs. A ball stamped for 10,000 pounds on a receiver rated for less gives you the receiver's number, and the trailer's coupler carries a rating too. Check all three, use the smallest, and confirm your truck's figures in the vehicle owner's manual and on the door-jamb label. Where can I get all of this checked in one stop? Bring the truck and trailer to our shop at 1200B Hwy 79 E in Hutto, central to most of Williamson County. Techs can load test the battery, inspect brakes, pressure test the cooling system and check wiring in one visit. Call ahead so the right bay is open. Start Your Fall Towing Checkup This Week Run the driveway items this weekend: date codes, bearing play, ratings, chains and lights. Book the rest before the first cool front brings everyone in at once. Call the service department at 877-841-2163 and ask about a battery load test while you are there. Service hours are Monday through Friday 7:00 AM to 7:00 PM and Saturday 7:00 AM to 4:00 PM, closed Sunday. Covert Chevrolet Hutto is at 1200B Hwy 79 E, Hutto, TX 78634. Last updated: October 12, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service

Super Cruise on I-35 and SH 130: Which Chevys Have It and What It Actually Does

Super Cruise on I-35 and SH 130: Which Chevys Have It and What It Actually Does Chevy Super Cruise is hands-free driving on more than 600,000 miles of compatible mapped roads across the United States and Canada (Chevrolet, August 2026). The system runs on divided highways such as I-35 and SH 130, watches your eyes with a driver attention camera, and does not operate on two-lane FM roads. If a long highway commute is most of your week, start by seeing which new Chevrolet SUVs in Hutto are built for it. Key Takeaways Super Cruise is hands-free driving on compatible mapped divided highways, not autonomous driving. A camera watches your eyes, and looking away long enough shuts the system down. Chevrolet offers it on the Traverse, Tahoe, Suburban, Silverado, Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Bolt and Silverado EV. Three years of OnStar One come with a new Super Cruise-equipped vehicle (Chevrolet, August 2026). I-35 and SH 130 suit the system; US 79 and the county roads do not. You leave Hutto a little before seven, and by the time you merge onto I-35 you are already on the brake. Forty minutes later your right leg is tired and your exit is still ahead. That specific misery is what Chevrolet built Super Cruise to take off your hands. Super Cruise is also the feature most often oversold. A hands-free system is not a self-driving system, and the gap between those two ideas is where drivers get themselves in trouble. Knowing exactly where the feature starts working and where it quits is worth more than any brochure line about the future of driving. What Does Super Cruise Actually Do on a Highway? Super Cruise steers, brakes and holds speed on highways Chevrolet has already mapped, with your hands off the wheel. Chevrolet puts that network at more than 600,000 miles of compatible roads in the United States and Canada (chevrolet.com, August 2026). That total sounds enormous, and it is still specific: divided highways with clear markings, not every road you drive. You can compare equipment across the lineup on the Chevrolet model research pages. A camera on the steering column watches your eyes the whole time. Glance down at a text and the system warns you. Keep looking away and the system hands control back, then escalates. That attention requirement is not a setting you switch off, and any honest description of Super Cruise has to lead with it rather than bury it. Which Chevrolet Models Offer Super Cruise? Chevrolet offers Super Cruise on the Traverse, Tahoe, Suburban, Silverado, Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Bolt and Silverado EV (Chevrolet, August 2026). Nothing else in the lineup is on that list, so a Trax or a Trailblazer shopper can skip this conversation entirely. Those eight span gas SUVs, full-size trucks and electric models, so Super Cruise is not tied to one powertrain. Availability then depends on how one particular vehicle was built, and not every example of those models leaves the factory with the hardware. Read the window sticker on the actual VIN, or ask a salesperson to pull the build sheet, before you count on the feature being there. The Traverse specs and features page is a sensible starting point for a three-row highway commuter. What Does Super Cruise Cost After the First Three Years? Three years of OnStar One come included with a new Super Cruise-equipped vehicle, so the hands-free capability is live from day one at no separate charge (Chevrolet, August 2026). Once those three years end, Super Cruise continues as a paid subscription. The published rate is $39.99 per month or $399.00 per year for the Super Cruise plan, and OnStar One starts at $34.99 per month (OnStar, August 2026). Those are subscription prices, not a vehicle price and not a monthly payment. Budget for them like a phone plan, then ask whether you drive enough divided-highway miles in a year to earn back the annual figure. A driver running the toll bypass to the airport twice a month probably does. Where Does Super Cruise Fit a Central Texas Drive? Judge Super Cruise route by route. Here is how Super Cruise lines up against the drives people here actually make, including the two rows where the answer is a flat no. Route Road type Super Cruise fit I-35 through Round Rock and Georgetown Divided interstate, heavy congestion Strong. The mapped highway type the system was designed around. SH 130 toll bypass Divided toll highway, long and open Strong. Few interruptions and light traffic. US 79 east toward Taylor Undivided highway, signals and turn-ins No. Not a hands-free road. FM and county roads north and east of town Two-lane, unlit, no median No. You drive every mile yourself. Long haul pulling a trailer Divided highway with a trailer attached Yes on the 2027 Silverado 1500, which adds trailering capability. The two highway rows cover most of your weekly miles. Look through the current new-vehicle specials and check the equipment line on each window sticker. What This Means for Hutto Drivers People in this corner of Williamson County drive a lot, and a large share of those miles are highway miles. The SH 130 toll bypass crosses US 79 just west of town, and that is how plenty of drivers here reach the airport or San Antonio without ever touching I-35. Long, straight and lightly used describes close to an ideal Super Cruise route. The rest of the picture starts in your own driveway. October brings the first cool fronts and noticeably shorter daylight, so the drive home from the Samsung construction traffic on US 79 now finishes in the dark. Deer move on the FM roads from October into December, and no driver assistance feature is going to save you out there. Super Cruise is a highway tool. The last few miles on a two-lane, unlit county road belong entirely to you, which makes this a sensible month to book a service visit and get headlights, wipers and tires looked at. Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers Does Super Cruise work on I-35 and SH 130? Yes, both are the divided-highway type Super Cruise was built for, provided the specific stretch is part of Chevrolet's mapped network of more than 600,000 miles (Chevrolet, August 2026). The vehicle tells you when hands-free driving is available on the stretch you are on, and you steer any time it does not. How much does Super Cruise cost after the included period? Three years of OnStar One come with a new Super Cruise-equipped vehicle. After that, the published Super Cruise plan runs $39.99 per month or $399.00 per year, and OnStar One starts at $34.99 per month (Chevrolet and OnStar, August 2026). Those figures are subscription prices only, separate from the price of the vehicle. Which Chevrolet models offer Super Cruise? Chevrolet lists the Traverse, Tahoe, Suburban, Silverado, Blazer EV, Equinox EV, Bolt and Silverado EV (Chevrolet, August 2026). Availability still varies by how an individual vehicle was equipped at the factory, so confirm the feature on the window sticker of the exact unit you are considering rather than assuming the model covers it. Can Super Cruise be used while towing? The 2027 Silverado 1500 adds trailering capability to Super Cruise, which matters on a long haul (Chevrolet, June 2026). Chevrolet has not published that capability for the other Super Cruise vehicles, so confirm it rather than assume it. Compare a Silverado 1500 near Round Rock before you order a truck for towing. Will Super Cruise work on FM 1660 or a county road? No. FM roads and county roads are two-lane and undivided, which puts them outside the compatible road network entirely. The system will not engage there, and treating a lane-centering feature as a substitute for attention on an unlit two-lane road at dusk is how people hit deer in October. Is Super Cruise the same as self-driving? No. Super Cruise is a hands-free driver assistance feature, and you remain the driver at all times. A camera confirms your eyes are on the road, and the system disengages if they are not. Nothing about it lets you read, nap or take your attention off traffic on any road. Start With a Test Drive on the Road You Actually Commute Drive a Super Cruise vehicle up I-35 during a real weekday backup, not around a quiet block, and you will know quickly whether the subscription is worth it to you. Covert Chevrolet Hutto can pull the build sheet on a unit so you know before the drive whether the hardware is on that VIN. Call sales at 512-253-4911, Monday through Friday 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM or Sunday 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Find out what your trade is worth first so the whole conversation happens in one visit. Last updated: October 5, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service