Chevy Colorado Payload by Trim: Why the ZR2 Carries 400 Pounds Less Than a Work Truck Chevy Colorado payload by trim runs from 1,710 pounds on a 2026 Work Truck 2WD down to 1,310 pounds on the ZR2 (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). Every trim shares one 310-horsepower 2.7L TurboMax engine, so that 400-pound spread comes from off-road hardware weight, not from any engine choice. Payload is easier to judge with the trucks in front of you, so browse new Chevy trucks and compare Colorado trims in person. Key Takeaways A 2026 Colorado WT 2WD is rated for 1,710 pounds of payload and a ZR2 for 1,310 pounds (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). Payload runs opposite to price, since the least expensive trim carries the most. Max towing is 7,700 pounds across every 2026 Colorado trim when properly equipped (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Payload includes passengers, cargo, accessories and trailer tongue weight. You pick the trim you like, sign for it, then load four people, a toolbox and 500 pounds of feed into it. That is usually the moment a midsize truck buyer meets payload. On the Colorado, payload is the one spec that swings hard between trims, and it swings in the direction most shoppers do not expect. The midsize class earns its keep here. A full-size crew cab does not fit the older driveways and single-car garages off Front Street, and it is a chore to park in the Co-Op District. Fifteen minutes east, caliche ranch entrances and unlit county roads are exactly what the off-road trims were built for. Why Does Payload Change So Much Across Colorado Trims? Start with what does not change. Every 2026 Colorado, from the Work Truck to the ZR2, uses the same 2.7L TurboMax four-cylinder rated at 310 horsepower and 430 lb-ft of torque (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Max towing is 7,700 pounds across the lineup when properly equipped. There is no engine upgrade to buy and no tow rating hiding in a higher trim, so compare the Colorado trim details instead. What changes is weight. Skid plates, a wider track, heavier wheels and tires, added suspension travel and the ZR2's Multimatic dampers all add mass to the truck itself. Gross vehicle weight rating does not rise to match, so every pound of off-road hardware comes out of what the truck can carry. What Actually Counts Against Your Payload? Payload is not bed capacity. Payload is everything the truck carries that did not come from the factory: driver, passengers, tools, a bed rack, a steel bumper, a toolbox, and the tongue weight of whatever you tow. A crew of four adults plus their gear eats a real share of 1,310 pounds before a single bag of feed goes in the bed. Tongue weight is the part people miss. Tongue weight presses down on the hitch, so it lands on the truck's payload rather than on the tow rating. Accessories work the same way, and anything you bolt on stays bolted on, so subtract a rack or bumper before you load. The number that governs your specific truck sits on the door-jamb sticker, not in a brochure. Which Colorado Trim Carries the Most? A Silverado 1500 is the honest answer if your load math keeps landing north of 1,700 pounds. Within the Colorado lineup, the Work Truck and the LT sit at the top of the payload chart and the ZR2 sits at the bottom, the reverse of the price order. Here is how the 2026 trims sort out. Trim 2026 MSRP Max payload What it trades payload for WT $32,400 1,710 lbs 2WD / 1,700 lbs 4WD Nothing. Lightest, plainest, carries most. LT $36,000 1,710 lbs 2WD / 1,700 lbs 4WD Comfort and tech, no payload penalty. Trail Boss $40,500 1,570 lbs Lift and off-road tires, 140 lbs given up. Z71 $44,600 1,590 lbs Trail gear with more on-road manners. ZR2 $50,700 1,310 lbs Serious off-road hardware, 400 lbs given up. Know what your current truck is worth before you settle on a Colorado trim, because that number decides how much truck you can justify. It takes about two minutes to value your trade. What Changes for the 2027 Colorado? Order books are open for the 2027 Colorado, and the lineup is five crew cab short-box trims: WT, LT, Trail Boss, Z71 and ZR2 (GM-Trucks order guide, August 3, 2026). Payload, GVWR, fuel capacity and dimensions carry over identical to 2026, so the table above applies to a 2027 order just as it does to a 2026 truck. The 2.7L TurboMax RPO code changes from L3B to L4B for 2027, and Chevrolet has not disclosed whether that changes output or towing, so no figure here claims it does. Three colors arrive, Serpent Metallic, Storm Gray Metallic and Nitron Blue, while Snowdrift, Reef Blue and Sunrise Orange are dropped. The hotspot moves from 4G LTE to 5G, and Chevy Safety Assist stays standard on Colorado. The ZR2 Bison is confirmed as an AEV collaboration, though Chevrolet has not published its pricing. Compare specs in our model research hub. What This Means for Hutto Drivers US 79 runs right past the store, and it carries a steady stream of contractor pickups and crew trucks, heavier since construction started on the Samsung plant about ten minutes east in Taylor. A midsize truck is a genuine work vehicle for many of the trades that have grown up around that project. It parks at a tight job site, fits a residential street, and still hauls a load. The real tension shows up in Old Town Hutto. The buyer who wants a ZR2 for the caliche ranch entrances out toward Coupland is often the same person hauling feed, tools or a small trailer on Monday morning. At 1,310 pounds, the ZR2 gives up 400 pounds against a Work Truck (GM Authority, February 27, 2026), and that gap is where the decision gets real. Williamson County keeps growing, and some families settle that split with a second truck from our used truck inventory. Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers How much payload does a 2026 Chevy Colorado ZR2 have? The 2026 Colorado ZR2 is rated for 1,310 pounds of payload (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). That figure is the lowest in the lineup, and it reflects the off-road hardware the ZR2 adds. Check the door-jamb sticker on the specific truck you buy, because equipment choices move the number. Which Colorado trim has the highest payload? The Work Truck 2WD and the LT 2WD tie for the highest 2026 Colorado payload at 1,710 pounds each, and their 4WD versions are rated at 1,700 pounds (GM Authority, February 27, 2026). The Work Truck also carries the lowest MSRP in the lineup at $32,400 (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Does a higher Colorado trim tow more? No. Max towing is 7,700 pounds across the entire 2026 Colorado lineup when properly equipped (Chevrolet, 2026 model year). Every trim uses the same 2.7L TurboMax rated at 310 horsepower and 430 lb-ft of torque. Trim level changes payload, ground clearance and equipment, not the tow rating. Does trailer tongue weight count against payload? Yes. Tongue weight presses down on the hitch, so it counts against the truck's payload instead of its towing capacity. A trailer that puts 600 pounds on the ball leaves a 1,310-pound ZR2 with about 700 pounds for people, gear and accessories. Weigh your loaded setup before you assume it fits. Where do I find my truck's exact payload? Look at the yellow sticker inside the driver's door jamb. It states the combined weight of occupants and cargo that should never be exceeded for that specific vehicle. A brochure figure describes a configuration, not your truck, and every accessory added after delivery lowers what the sticker allows. Is the 2027 Colorado payload different from 2026? No. Payload, GVWR, fuel capacity and dimensions carry over identical to 2026 on the 2027 Colorado (GM-Trucks order guide, August 3, 2026). Order books for the 2027 Colorado are already open. The 2.7L TurboMax RPO code changes from L3B to L4B, and Chevrolet has not disclosed whether that affects output or towing. Start With the Load, Not the Trim Badge Start by adding up what you carry on your heaviest week: people, tools, feed, tongue weight and accessories. Bring that number to 1200B Hwy 79 E in Hutto and we will match it to a trim. Sales is open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM and Sunday from 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Call Covert Chevrolet Hutto at 512-253-4911 to set up a test drive, or run the numbers with our payment calculator. Last updated: October 19, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service
What Chevy Safety Assist Includes, and Which Chevys Get It Standard
What Chevy Safety Assist Includes, and Which Chevys Get It Standard Chevy Safety Assist is Chevrolet's name for six standard driver aids: Forward Collision Alert, Automatic Emergency Braking, Front Pedestrian Braking, Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning, Following Distance Indicator, and IntelliBeam Auto High Beams. Chevrolet lists the bundle as standard on Trax and on Colorado. None of the six makes a vehicle self-driving. Seeing these features work beats reading about them. Browse the new Chevy SUVs on the lot and sit in one after sundown. Key Takeaways Chevy Safety Assist bundles six features, and four of them only warn rather than act. Automatic Emergency Braking and Lane Keep Assist are the only two that act on the vehicle, and neither makes a Chevy self-driving. Front Pedestrian Braking watches for people, and Chevrolet does not market it as a deer detection system. Chevrolet lists the bundle as standard on Trax and on Colorado, and publishes no page covering the rest of the lineup. The clock falls back the first weekend of November, and the drive home goes dark before you finish loading the truck. That change lands harder along the US 79 corridor than in a city, because so many miles here run on unlit two-lane roads. Deer start moving in October and keep at it through December, which turns a routine 5:30 commute into a different job than it was in September. The driver assistance list on the window sticker becomes equipment you use this week. What Is Chevy Safety Assist, Exactly? Chevy Safety Assist is a package of six driver assistance features that Chevrolet installs together as standard equipment on certain models (Chevrolet model pages, August 2026). Four of the six only warn you. Two intervene, one on the brakes and one on the steering. Chevrolet publishes no consolidated Chevy Safety Assist page listing every vehicle that carries the bundle, so the individual vehicle's equipment list is the only reliable source. Start at the Chevy model research hub, then confirm against the window sticker. What Do the Three Collision Features Do? Forward Collision Alert watches the vehicle ahead and warns you with a flashing light and a tone when you close too fast. Forward Collision Alert does not slow the vehicle at all. Reacting to that warning is still entirely your job as the driver. Automatic Emergency Braking is the one that brakes. When a front collision looks likely and the driver has not reacted, the system applies the brakes on its own. Chevrolet positions Automatic Emergency Braking as a way to reduce crash severity, not to guarantee you avoid the crash. Front Pedestrian Braking looks for people in the road ahead at lower speeds and can warn, then brake. Front Pedestrian Braking is a pedestrian system, not a deer detection system, and no feature in this bundle is. Chevrolet makes all three standard on the Chevy Trax. How Do the Other Three Features Work? Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning alerts you when the vehicle drifts over a lane marking without a turn signal, then applies gentle steering back toward the lane. The system reads painted lines, so a faded stripe gives it nothing to read on a dark county road. Following Distance Indicator shows your gap to the vehicle ahead in seconds on the driver display. Following Distance Indicator changes nothing about the vehicle. The number exists so you decide to back off. IntelliBeam Auto High Beams turns your high beams on when the road ahead is dark and empty, then drops them to low for oncoming headlights or taillights. IntelliBeam does not steer the beam, and you can always switch beams by hand. Which Chevys Get Chevy Safety Assist Standard? Chevrolet lists Chevy Safety Assist as standard equipment on Trax, and standard on the Chevy Colorado (Chevrolet, August 2026). For two other nameplates Chevrolet makes a different claim: over 15 standard safety and driver assistance features on Equinox, and over 20 on Traverse. Those counts are not the same as naming the bundle, so verify on the vehicle itself. The table pairs each feature with what it does and where it matters locally. Feature What it actually does Where it earns its keep around Hutto Forward Collision Alert Warns only. No braking. A contractor pickup braking hard in the US 79 school zone. Automatic Emergency Braking Brakes for you if you don't react. Stop-and-go crawl on I-35 through Round Rock. Front Pedestrian Braking Detects people ahead at low speed. Not deer. Front Street and the Co-Op District after dark. Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning Warns, then nudges the wheel. FM 1660, where the lane paint is worn thin. Following Distance Indicator Displays your gap in seconds. Commuter bunching on US 79 east of town. IntelliBeam Auto High Beams Swaps high and low beams automatically. Unlit county roads toward Coupland and Thrall at dusk. Pricing moves with the incentive calendar, so check this month's new-vehicle specials before you settle on a trim. What This Means for Hutto Drivers Williamson County keeps adding drivers, and the mix on US 79 now includes crew trucks running to the Samsung site in Taylor alongside school-zone traffic twice a day. Following Distance Indicator and Automatic Emergency Braking do their quiet work in exactly that kind of bunched, distracted commuting. Get north or east of town and the picture changes completely. FM 1660 and CR 137 are two lanes, unlit, and edged with Blackland Prairie clay, which is where IntelliBeam and Forward Collision Alert matter most in late October. Deer at dusk are the real hazard on those roads, and no system on this list detects them, so slowing down is still the only tool that works. If those roads are part of your nightly drive, weigh the headlight and driver assistance content carefully on whatever you shop next, including the Equinox. Quick Answers for Hutto Drivers What is included in Chevy Safety Assist? Chevy Safety Assist includes six features: Forward Collision Alert, Automatic Emergency Braking, Front Pedestrian Braking, Lane Keep Assist with Lane Departure Warning, Following Distance Indicator, and IntelliBeam Auto High Beams. Chevrolet uses those exact names on its model pages as of August 2026. Four of the six only warn, while two act on the vehicle. Is Chevy Safety Assist standard on the Trax? Yes. Chevrolet lists Chevy Safety Assist as standard equipment on Trax, and also as standard on Colorado, as of August 2026. Chevrolet does not publish one page confirming standard status across the full lineup, so check the driver assistance section of the window sticker on the specific vehicle before you sign. Does Front Pedestrian Braking detect deer? No. Front Pedestrian Braking is built to detect people in the road ahead at lower speeds, and Chevrolet does not market it as a deer detection system. That distinction matters between October and December, when deer move at dusk on the two-lane roads north and east of town. Slow down instead of trusting the sensor. What does IntelliBeam actually do on an unlit road? IntelliBeam Auto High Beams turns your high beams on automatically when the road ahead is dark and no other vehicles are detected, then drops back to low beams for oncoming headlights or taillights ahead. IntelliBeam does not aim the beam around curves and does not brighten the light itself. The benefit is that you stop forgetting to switch. Do these features make a Chevy self-driving? No. Not one of the six features in Chevy Safety Assist makes a vehicle self-driving, and Chevrolet does not describe the bundle that way. Lane Keep Assist applies brief steering corrections and Automatic Emergency Braking applies the brakes, but both assume a driver who is steering, watching the road and ready to react. How do I confirm a vehicle has Chevy Safety Assist? Read the window sticker on that exact vehicle and look at the standard equipment list under driver assistance. The six feature names appear individually. Trim level and build date both affect content, so a printout for a similar vehicle is not proof. Our sales team will pull the sticker for any unit on the lot. Start With the Window Sticker, Then Drive It After Dark Ask for the window sticker on the exact unit and read the driver assistance list yourself. Then take the test drive late in the day, so you can watch IntelliBeam swap beams and find the Following Distance Indicator. Covert Chevrolet Hutto is at 1200B Hwy 79 E, with sales open Monday through Friday from 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM and Sunday from 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM. Call 512-253-4911 to book an evening drive, or get pre-approved online first. Last updated: October 26, 2026 New Chevrolet Inventory | Pre-Owned Inventory | Chevrolet Service